Kawasaki World banner

1 - 20 of 128 Posts

·
Registered
1,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys, So back in July I decided to take the plunge on putting a turbo on my 12. My bike was in need of a few maintainence items ( leaky valve cover, chain was shot, still kind of hashed together after my crash in May) and when I picked up a screw in my front tire I decided to park it early this year. Knowing I wouldn't be needing it, I was able to sell my full Micron system for $450. That got me a decent financial start but I wouldn't graduate the police academy until mid August, so the old girl had to wait on me for a while. I'll try to post some pics and tidbits here and there as I go. First and foremost a few disclaimers. Firstly this is all my handywork and I am far from a professional fabricator so feel free to point out errors. Also as the title says this is budget oriented so be prepared for tons of ebay parts(i paid to keep the lights on in China somewhere) and I'm gonna post what I paid for everything. All prices include shipping and are rounded up.

This is most of it so far, before I did the wastegate addition to the downpipe.
I'm shooting for around 6 psi. Turbo is a ebay TD04-15G, I built a header, 2.5"
exhaust, charge piping, etc.. Plans are 440 cc injectors, ran with a boost referenced fpr and a walbro gs307 pump. Tuned with a pc3 using a WEGO III.

·
Registered
1,426 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)

Ebay TD04-15G I got it unused for $125. Its kind of an oddball Mitsubishi turbo. It uses a t25 flange, a TD04 downpipe flange, and none of the whacky Mitsubishi propriatary flanges. Pretty tiny 6cm (.41 AR) exhaust housing so with 12:1 compression and quick spooling it should be fun.

I basically just made a simple jig to go on the bike and ran the tubing to there. The angle doesnt really matter in the end but its still further forward here than I wanted due to the bike being on a stand. The T25 flange was $16