Kawasaki World banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have tried to fine tune the PC3r myself. I have even read up on several suggestions in bike mags and reviewed old posts....nothing has helped. I tried to lean out the A/F between 2k-3k by 7-8% and cant really tell the difference. I have tried to adjust the A/F using the buttons on the PC3...I went leaner by 6% then richer by 6%....no help. Does anyone have suggestions? I started with the yosh map from the PC website (i have the rs3 duplex system) and went from there. With the yosh map all is well above 3K rpm....should I just forget the stumble? Closest dyno is 3 hrs one way!

Doctor green

</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,522 Posts
Doc, you can't tell me there isn't a dyno closer than 450 miles?! <img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/laugh.gif ALT=":lol">

I personally don't notice it on my bike, but generally don't run below 3 or 4k once I get started. I'll let you know if I have any brilliant revelations at the dyno shop tomorrow.

"Take two beers and call me in the morning"</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
77 Posts
Sorry to here your troubles. I had the same problem with the Muzzy on my bike. I now have a Yosh RS3 Duplex and the 2500 rpm trouble spot is gone! Seems like everyone of these bikes has its own likes and dislikes. Which I attribute to poor quality control on Kawis part, otherwise why the big differneces?
I am running a mechanical advancer set at 4 degrees advance. The ign map is set at zero in the PC3R, the low rpm fuel button is 1 bar lean. The bike idles almost like stock, there is a very small flat spot at 2000 when slooowly turnig the throttle , but not noticable when turned somewhat faster.

And yes I know the PC3R has ign maps. I put the Muzzy advancer in because I figured I would probably not need the PC3R with the Yosh pipe. That is what I was told from a number of emails about the set up I am running. Sofar I believe the PC3R is just ballast on my bike at this point, but I dont have enough miles with this new setup to make a determination reguarding the removeal and sale of the PC3R

Good Luck!

</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
38 Posts
you should try the pilot jet fix that workman100 described - works wonders on my bike - I may have an extra jet forsale if your interested - $10 buck shipped.

tony

</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
759 Posts
Doctor...Just because you have a Yosh pipe doesnt mean that you cant put maps in from different pipes!!!...Try it and see if the 2500 stumble gets better, if so then reload the Yosh map and change the fuel properties from 2000 to 3500 rpm, 0% - 20% throttle possitions from the other map!!!

Go to Easys Map Library and down load all of them...Good Luck


CrotchRocket

9.67 @ 146.99-Blue 2002...

9.64 @ 146.34-Red 2000...



What would you rather buy? 1 Harley or 2 ZX12s???</p>
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the suggestions.. I am going to try and load up the akra map this evening and see what happens. As far as the ignition advance goes....should I mess with it? It is currently zero accross the board. If I change it how would I do it? Do you change all the zeros on the ignition map or just a few choice ones? Sorry if this is a dumb question.

Doctor Green

</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
759 Posts
The easiest way to add timing is download the Muzzy race map with timing and thats it...That is a good timing map!!!

By the way the best way to change the fuel properties is with the computer or laptop!!!...

Then change the fuel properties the way I mentioned before!!!...But you should change all the other properties to match the Yosh map, so you know its not too Rich or Lean since you dont have a Dyno 250 with exhaust sensor to know the conditions your bike is running!!!...Hope you understand what I mean...Take your time!!!


CrotchRocket

9.67 @ 146.99-Blue 2002...

9.64 @ 146.34-Red 2000...



What would you rather buy? 1 Harley or 2 ZX12s???</p>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub56.ezboard.com/bkawasakizx12r.showLocalUserPublicProfile?login=crotchrocket>CrotchRocket</A> 
at: 9/12/02 7:12:23 am
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
Mantis, or anyone else who has an extra pilot jet for Workman's mod...if you guys want to sell me an extra I'll buy it. The dealers near me all say they don't make a 12.5 or anything even close to that small. But hey, what do they know.
Go ahead and e-mail me the info

[email protected]

</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
Doc-

That trouble area around 2,500-3,000 rpm was GONE from my bike when I was using that map you found. But, not all bikes respond the same - right?

I don't use a Power Commander at all now. Seems they all crap out sooner or later. Mine did after having it on the bike for 14 months. What surprised me was how good the bike runs without it. Yes, that 2,500 rpm flat spot is back now and the bike doesn't seem to run quite as smoothly as it did with the PCIIIr - but it does run STRONG!! I don't miss the Power Commander and I'm not going to bother with replacing it! <img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)">

</p>
 
G

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Well I went ahead and loaded RedRocket's map. It is complete with timing advance. the throttle seems crisper BUT....the 2500-3000 problem is very similar. I get the turbo effect at 3000 rpm and the bike springs to life. Loading fuel at 0 throttle and 500 1000 1500 doesnt seem to make much difference in the slight hunt I have. I will have to keep tinkering! Thanks for the help.

Doctor Green

</p>
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top