Kawasaki World banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone.

I have an '02 Kawasaki Ninja ZX9R - F1

I'm pretty new to doing my own light maintenance, and until today, I haven't had any issues. A couple of weeks ago I invested in some 611 chain cleaner - which works like a dream. I also heard great things about Simple Green, but the 611 was just closer to me. Anyway, I also invested in a small oil filter wrench and drained and replaced my own oil - that was pretty fun, and cheaper than going to the mechanic.
The next thing I wanted to learn was flushing my radiator fluid. I'm pretty sure mine needed the flush, too. So I looked up some videos, read some "how to's" and got to it. It took me longer to find my drain bolt than anything else, honestly... Lol. But more to the point, I flushed the old fluid out, cleaned the system with distilled water and vinegar (which is what I saw and read was best) and then replaced the fluid. But before the flush, I changed my oil filter, too. At the end of the process, I started the bike up and it started with no issue, but immediately began to idle at about 3k RPM's.

So I'll walk you through everything I did simply and quickly, and I pray someone can tell me what the issue might be.

1) Changed oil filter. Old one was on there extremely tight. New one placed on, and twisted on according to directions. "Tighten 1(one) turn after gasket makes contact."
2) Spent 1 hour searching for drain bolt like a newbie. Lol.
3) Drain bolt located. Loosened but did not remove radiator cap as well as overflow cap.
4) Drain bolt removed. Liquid drained.
5) Drain bolt replaced. Distilled water and vinegar mixed in a 50:50 ratio and filled into system.
6) Bike started and allowed to run with mixture cleaning he system.