Kawasaki World banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking of purchasing 99 Kawasaki zx9r, but have a issue with it, owner says "Third gear has gone out but I have a new input gear and output gear, shafts as well as the shift drum and shift forks all out of a 2000 zx9r. "
I am a mechanic, have not worked on a cycle before except for simple stuff, I have a Excellent camera so I can document all stages of teardown, for rebuilt purposes. How hard is it to replace a gear and a shift fork on this bike? Will have a few months to do it. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!!!!!!!

·
Registered
1,007 Posts
My biggest warning to you would be what damage the "3rd gear gone out" has done.

It's a crap shoot until you split the cases and get in there.

I bought a Suzuki 600 cc 4WD ATV several years ago fairly cheap that would start fine, but would not move. I took a gamble that it was something with the centrifugal clutch - maybe just a blown belt, possibly the clutch hub. The ATV was not perfect but was in pretty good shape and had new wheels and tires.

So.... I start tearing it down - it was strictly a flip project and....

The left side crankcase was completely broken/shattered around the transmission output shaft where it came out and drove the drive shaft that went to either the front or rear of the vehicle.

A new aluminum crankcase half was about $500 but they are machined as a pair so now I am looking at $1000 before I even get out of bed.

I strongly suspect that somebody was spinning the tires hard on dirt and then hitting pavement and eventually the old girl broke.

I got lucky in finding a guy here in town that was willing and skilled enough to re-weld and machine the output shaft holder area of the crankcase but it was not cheap (but a hell of a lot cheaper than replacing the crankcase halves). Aluminum is not easy to weld and what he did was a work of art, no doubt.