Kawasaki World banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I need some advice. Yesterday My 2001 ZX-12r started smoking and leaking coolant during my return ride from Va beach. I looked down and the temperature needle was at the H. This didn't not occur until I ran into traffic. Just as I slowed down to stop the temperature went up. Weird things was the day before I drove to the beach from MD which is about 200 miles. I Was in crazy traffic for 2 hours and no issues. Return home and all hell breaks lose. Once I pulled off the road I let it sit for a minute. Started it back up and again smoke and coolant come from the overflow. Had the bike towed back to MD. All fluids where good prior to departure. I cant remember if the fan kicked in but now it doesn't come on. Need help. Is te smoke any signs of damage? Fan issue? I'm not a mechanic. My bike has 11k miles on it. Any help will be useful.

·
Super Moderator
1,262 Posts
Is it steam or smoke?
My brother's FZ1-N started doing this last week, ended up being due to a faulty radiator cap.

If its smoke, its kind of hard to say until you pull your fairings off and see exactly where its coming from or see if anything has melted...

·
Registered
1,304 Posts
Twen, the only overheating issues I've ever had were caused by the fan switch. The symptoms you describe make me think that this is your problem too. The switch is easy to get to, and can be changed in less than 5 minutes with 1 wrench and some teflon tape. You don't have to remove any other parts to get to it - you can see it if you look into your lefthand fairing vent. It is the brass fitting screwed into the back of the radiator.

You said you're not a mechanic. If you've ever wanted to start working on your own bike, this would be a good place to start. There is a simple procedure to verify that this is your problem. The switch is expensive, almost $100.