Kawasaki World banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I was just wondering if anyone could help me out a little. Im sort of new to motorcycles and this is actually my first post on this forum. Big noob here..!! hehe.

The 05 ZX12R is really low on power, not even close to what it was when I bought it 5 months ago. Its just not responsive in the lower part of the powerband (anywere really) and it just gets worst as I go up in the RPM's she pulls a little but nothing like stock. Not even close. I can only get to 160mph and it takes some time to get there, it still climbs but sloooooowly.

Fi light is not on. If I snap her wide open at around 6k rpm's.... NOTHING happens, she just keeps going like I didnt even hit the gas. And she is wot. As soon as I start letting off, she jumps forward. :puzzled: But it only happens sometimes, its not consistant. She also backfires ALOT when I let go of the throttle at decent revs. More than I remember, maybe im just paranoid. Yoshimura slip on and K&N filter are the only mods.

So I checked the fuel pump, when ignition is turned on (engine off) she puts out 45psi when she primes. (Not sure when the bike is actually running tho) (Cleaned her with maf cleaner also) Changed all the spark plugs, no difference at all. Valves were adjusted by a shop, all exhaust valves were too tight. Previous owner never did them after 23k miles. The bike ran stronger after she was adjusted but still not close to 170hp+. More like 90. She won't even wheelie in first gear.

I checked the voltage on the Main throttle sensor, inlet air pressure sensor, atmospheric pressure sensor and subthrottle sensor. All have the right voltage according to the manual. Air filter is kinda dirty but not enough to rob all that power. Will replace. The ECU controls the top butterfly valves in the throttle bodies I believe and they open and close when ignition is turned on. And as I say F1 light is not on.