Kawasaki World banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to the scene. I just bought my first bike witch is a 1999 Kawasaki ZX9R. I noticed that it had a delay on the throttle response. Any help would be appreciated. And is it smart to try and keep a old bike or just save and buy a new one. I know they say to buy a used bike first for learning experience. I don't mind restoring it but is it worth it? My bike currently has 42,000 miles but this bike sounds and looks great. What is the down side of having a bike with this many miles?

·
Registered
132 Posts
welcome to the forum.

Nothing wrong with having a bike with 42,000 miles on it as long as its been looked after,

you will have to be a bit more specific in your problem with the delay with the throttle response,

is it a carburetor set up on your model, or is it injected?, is the throttle cable sticking does it feel notchy when operating the throttle.

does it sound like it sucks a lot of air in but go's no where? then it picks up?

·
Registered
329 Posts
With the bike being carbureted it isn't going to be as snappy as fuel injection. Try to oil/lube the throttle cable and double check that it is routed correctly.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
My ninja has carburetors and it feels like the cable is fine i have no restriction on it. Its like you can pull back on the throttle and its like the acceleration creeps up on you (a delay) out of gear runs fine but it happens mainly on first and today it kinda sputtered out at the high end of the gears. My opinion its the carburetors just don't know for sure. i'm down to fix it myself just need some guidance from my fellow Kawasaki owners. Maybe bad gas maybe some clogging in the fuel system or intake leak or restriction. Has any one had this problem?

·
Registered
132 Posts