Kawasaki World banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Right. Today I committed myself to stripping the bike down to get at the spark plugs and measure the valve clearances and hopefully eradicate an oil leak from the rocker box gasket whilst I am at it. It's my first time doing open heart surgery on my beloved. It's a 2001 zx12r by the way, 22500 miles.

So far so good, have got in there! So, measured all the clearances and there are quite a few on the lower gap limit. As they are technically in spec, I'm tempted to leave them be, the bike runs beautifully from the off, just the usual but of choke required if a cold start. My question is, what am I likely to gain by changing the shims? Will it make the bike smoother? Also, where would you shim it too? The max gap or somewhere inbetween the max and min?

I ask because whilst the book says to open the gap up a bit, I was wondering if anybody has any experience in running with tighter gaps/or whether there is likely any damage or power loss if the engine is running apparently fine?

Cheers
Tom

·
Registered
1,912 Posts

As per what NinjaYorkie says

Here is my 2 pence worth, but as its your bike do them as you want to.

As you're doing the Valve clearances yourself you may as well take your time and set them up to the best you can, so make sure you use a good feeler gauge to accurately measure the gaps. These are the best ones I've found for the job, lots of smaller sizes and you can use 2 to make intermediate sizes.
Draper Expert 19613 Dual-Reading Feeler Gauge.

Remember Shim Size on the zx12 is 9.48 diameter, and the sizes you will probably be needing is 2.00 to 2.50mm so buying the full HotCam kit may not be worth it.