Kawasaki World banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi fellow owners of what was for me the most awesome machine ever!

Just thought I would tell you about my issues with my ZX, which is an 03 with just 6500 miles on it. Yup, that's right, 6500! I bought it a year ago with just 2,200 on it and have loved upping that to it's current reading.

I started having problems a few months ago when it just plain refused to start, this happened overnight and my local bike shop suggested damp in the plugs. Well I had a check and then (after bruising my knuckles to death) handed it to them for a service, new plugs and a new rear shoe. Problem solved!:thumbup:

SO then a few weeks later it started kicking up a fuss. The whole thing suddenly blew a fuse and the dash died. I'm a teacher and it happened on the way to work, leaving me having to push my beloved machine past all the kids! :banghead:

One fuse change later and off we go.... belting.... but then, the damn thing starts getting an FI fault, seeing it cut out and restart as though I was running out of fuel. (this tended to happen at higher revs or when pushing it, so you can imagine how much fun that was in a bend!) :headscratch: Along with this I had a fuse go again! Then it wouldn't start with all fuses in place, it would just grind on the starter, but the pump wasn't priming :puzzled:

If you shook the bike back and forth between your legs, that tended to deal with it but most of the time it would take up to ten minutes. :eek:hthedrama:

FINALLY = On the fourth of April while riding in sh*t weather the FI light played up as if there were fueling issues, then the whole thing conked out. No blown fuses to be seen, but no priming pump and no starter motor! If I slammed the bars across full left or full right the starter switch would work again, but without fuel flowing... nothing! :deadhorse: