Kawasaki World banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Thought id post up a few pictures of changing my fork seals (due to leaking and part of a major service)

They might also come in handy for those who were thinking of buying a fork spring compressor (highly recommended), and some photos of how I used it.

In my opinion these must be the easiest forks seals I’ve changed so far.

Attachments

·
Registered
18 Posts
Nice job Philips. I am going to be doing my A1 fork seals in the next month. I’m unsure of what parts to order though if you have any advice. I see the fork seal listed as well as well as an oil seal...

I’ve never done this specific job but am a mechanic by trade, just 18 willers though. Any advice is appreciated thanks man and good job!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
1,299 Posts
Fork oil seal
Fork dust seal
Bottom copper washer
Part numbers are in the pic

Reactions: Kawiparamedic

·
Registered
221 Posts
Cheers!

Just a quick question... -Don´t the 2000 forks have any bronz? bushings at the end of the stanchions??

If they do? Any one have a part number for them? I´m gonna do a total fork rebuild in the near future...

Thanks!
/Tom

·
Registered
18 Posts
Cheers!

Just a quick question... -Don´t the 2000 forks have any bronz? bushings at the end of the stanchions??

If they do? Any one have a part number for them? I´m gonna do a total fork rebuild in the near future...

Thanks!

/Tom

Mefirst, babbits online has great diagrams for all of the zx12r models but not very good part descriptions...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
221 Posts
Mcbuckets13***